Founded in the Norman age, its name appears in a variety of forms. In the 13th century it was called Pescolo Pignataro, and later, in the time of the Angioini Regiments, Pesclum (in the year 1315). The word Pesco would indicate the rock near which the town is located, whereas the etymology for Pignataro is uncertain. It could have been a noble family who lived there, or it may refer to pottery production activities. Destroyed completely during the last war, an ancient section has been preserved which was once accessible through two gates. Of these, one was entirely destroyed, while the other, still partly preserved, allows access to the Church of San Bartolomeo Apostolo. Partially excavated out of the rock, the Hermitage of San Luca will captivate you with the beauty of the site, nestled between the forest and a panoramic cliff over the Sangro Valley!
Pescopennataro is famous for its stonemasons, who produced works not only in the Alto Molise; it is in fact known as the “Il Paese della pietra” (“The Village of Stone”), and it is possible to learn more about this old tradition with an attentive visit to the Museum of Stone.
It is a ski resort with cross-country trails, but also has sports facilities to meet every need.
The Rio Verde springs, as well as providing excellent water, is a green area equipped for wonderful picnics in the woods.